If you Hit my Daughter to Show her you like her…

I will beat you to a bloody pulp to show you how much I love you for it. Deal?

Thought inspired by this:

I am sure every girl can recall, at least once as a child, coming home and telling their parents, uncle, aunt or grandparent about a boy who had pulled her hair, hit her, teased her, pushed her or committed some other playground crime.

‘I will bet money that most of those, if not all, will tell you that they were told “Oh, that just means he likes you”. I never really thought much about it before having a daughter of my own. I find it appalling that this line of bullshit is still being fed to young children.

‘Look, if you want to tell your child that being verbally and/or physically abused is an acceptable sign of affection, i urge you to rethink your parenting strategy.

‘If you try and feed MY daughter that crap, you better bring protective gear because I am going to shower you with the brand of “affection” you are endorsing.’

Read the rest by Queen of the Couch here.

Just to be clear, if you hit my son for the same reason, I’ll extend the deal to you, too.

About MistressofBoogie

Feminist. Loud-mouth. Sometimes those two are linked. Sometimes not. View all posts by MistressofBoogie

2 responses to “If you Hit my Daughter to Show her you like her…

  • thegreenstudy

    Great post. I just don’t understand archaic parenting. My 8 year old is training in taekwondo, so she can deliver her smack down in person, should someone decide that physically assaulting her is a great idea. Not sure if parent-endorsed violence is great, either, but that’s what I’m going with.

    • MistressofBoogie

      Oh, parent-endorsed violence is as crappy as any other sort; much as part of me (the loopy part) would like to, the rational, normal part of me would desist from slam-dunkin’ a 6-year-old! But teaching your kids taekwondo (or MMA, as Boogie does) isn’t violence at all. It’s self-defence. I’ve written about this before (a looong time ago), but the two are worlds apart. https://mistressofboogie.wordpress.com/category/violence/page/3/
      Boogie’s moved on so far since this post; she understands that, if necessary, her body can be a weapon and, in this world, that ain’t no bad thing.
      Besides, martial arts teach great posture…

Leave a comment