Women May Not Actually Be Gold Diggers By Nature Shock

But they may be just as shallow as men when it comes to looks.

I read an article about this in an old Psychologies magazine left in the waiting room at my doctors, a place that, with the advent of kids and an over-active imagination, I’ve come to know pretty well.  I’m there so often I suspect my kids think ‘the doctors’ is just a really crappy stay ‘n’ play.  Anyway, I now can’t find the article online and I can’t find the research the article was talking about either so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

The telling phrase was (and I paraphrase ‘cos my memory isn’t what it was) the greater a woman’s own economic security, the less likely she is to find wealth attractive in a male – and the more likely she is to go for looks.  Could this possibly mean that there’s a reason other than evolutionary biology why women ‘chase’ rich men??  Ooh, I think so!

Look out for this article not appearing in the Daily Male.

This dovetails nicely with a spot I saw on the BBC (again, no links – hey, I’m going rogue here!) about Russian women taking classes to find a rich husband; several interviews with the various women revealed that they wanted rich husbands because otherwise, their lives would be, well, shite.  Evolutionary biology?  My arse.

About MistressofBoogie

Feminist. Loud-mouth. Sometimes those two are linked. Sometimes not. View all posts by MistressofBoogie

Leave a Reply

